Juice, Fruits and Vegetables Fast – Days 6 and 7

View of Scott Valley from hike 1

9/13/15

Day 6:

Forget what I wrote earlier about being done with the release of fluids from my body. My mouth is watering more, my nose is running, my eyes are running…. I feel kind of miserable, like I have a cold or allergies, but I know this is part of the detoxification process.

9-14-15

Day 7:

Day 7 and I’m in the home stretch. I’m craving whole, nutty brown rice in the worst way. There’s a lot of vitamin E in whole grains like this; perhaps my body needs more vitamin E. I would love to eat a bowl of al dente short-grain brown rice right now.

But, oddly, I do not crave meat, which I thought I would by now. Actually, the thought of eating meat disgusts me, but that may be due to the fact that I still have images of the documentary film, “Food, Inc.” in my mind.

I haven’t gone purely organic in my juicing and cooked fruits and vegetables, but I just heard a quote from Charlotte Gerson of the Gerson Institute in San Diego. I can’t remember where I heard it, but someone asked her if s/he could juice non-organic fruits and vegetables and Charlotte said that it would be like drinking a glass of “Roundup,” the herbicide. Wow. Powerful word picture.

I found this quote on the Gerson.org Website: “…the herbicide Roundup is one of the most toxic substances you can put in your body. Concentrating a chemical like Roundup with a press type juicer and drinking it is extremely harmful.” http://gerson.org/gerpress/faqs-juicing/ Yuck. Charlotte’s statements are compelling. I’m now being far more diligent about juicing only organic fruits and vegetables.

The human body was created to heal itself. Charlotte Gerson talks about the importance of allowing your body to detoxify when you’re employing the Gerson Therapy. If you’re constantly putting toxins from food-borne herbicides, shampoos, lotions, soaps, etc. into and onto your body, your body has a difficult, if not impossible, time detoxifying and healing itself.

Just yesterday, I listened to testimonies of healing via the Gerson Therapy method and of how people often reach a point where certain toxins in the liver suddenly release in the form of a noxious odor or taste in the mouth. This evening, as I was doing some deep breathing throughout my gentle, restorative, pre-bedtime yoga stretches, the scent of rotten cheese filled my nostrils. The smell was so strong, I became nauseous. My mouth got that filmy coating and I could taste something like metals or chemicals; I’m not sure what—probably both. I’m wondering what toxins my liver is releasing tonight. I have been allergic to dairy fat for most of my life, but continued to eat nonfat dairy products. Is that what I smell? Years of nonfat dairy accumulation releasing from my liver? And what is this taste? Heavy metals and chemicals being expelled from my body? Should I spit them out? If I drink water, will I urinate out the toxins I taste in my mouth? Very strange…yet hopeful and exciting, as well!

P.S. I would like to note that I am NOT following the Gerson method, but I am interested in learning more about it.

Leave a comment