THM Diet: Starchy vs. Non-starchy Vegetables

IMG_1635

I did it again! I was following the THM diet and doing so well, enjoying a lovely “Deep S” day. It’s fall right now, so I decided to make a crust-free pumpkin pie with egg whites, xylitol sweetener, and coconut milk. It was divine! But I didn’t lose any weight that day. What had happened? With a little research, I discovered that pumpkins are high in starch. I had “E’d” myself on an “S” day.

On one hand, I could be discouraged, because my weight loss was held up for a day. On the other hand, I’m so, so grateful to finally know what causes weight gains and weight loss plateaus. I ate some good, healthy “Deep S,” fat-rich coconut milk with a starchy pumpkin. It’s one of THM’s most basic weight loss principles: Eating starchy carbs and with any fat prevents weight loss!

I have to remind myself again: no bread with butter, no bananas and peanut butter, no cake and ice cream, no macaroni and cheese. I can make healthy THM versions of all these foods, but if I eat them together and I’ll pack on the pounds.

To make things easier for me (and for you), I copied down the following charts of starchy and non-starchy vegetables so there will be no more confusion.

List of Non-Starchy Vegetables[i] for Deep S and Fuel Pull Days

  • Amaranth or Chinese spinach
  • Artichoke
  • Artichoke hearts
  • Asparagus
  • Baby corn
  • Bamboo shoots
  • Beans (green, wax, Italian)
  • Bean sprouts
  • Beets
  • Broccoli
  • Brussels sprouts
  • Cabbage (green, bok choy, Chinese)
  • Carrots
  • Cauliflower
  • Celery
  • Chayote
  • Cucumber
  • Daikon
  • Eggplant
  • Greens (collard, kale, mustard, turnip)
  • Hearts of palm
  • Jicama
  • Kohlrabi
  • Leeks
  • Mushrooms
  • Okra
  • Onions
  • Pea pods
  • Peppers
  • Radishes
  • Rutabaga
  • Salad greens (chicory, endive, escarole, lettuce, romaine, spinach, arugula, radicchio, watercress)
  • Sprouts
  • Squash (cushaw, summer, crookneck, spaghetti, zucchini)
  • Sugar snap peas
  • Swiss chard
  • Tomato
  • Turnips
  • Water chestnuts
  • Yard-long beans

List of Starchy Vegetables[ii] for Deep E (Refuel) Days

  • Beans (dried)
  • Beets
  • Carrots
  • Corn
  • Parsnips
  • Peas
  • Potatoes
  • Pumpkin
  • Squash, winter
  • Sweet potatoes
  • Turnips
  • Yams
  • Parsnips
  • Plantain
  • Taro
3 thoughts on “THM Diet: Starchy vs. Non-starchy Vegetables

  1. just found your blog… enjoying reading it. but from what i’ve read, pumpkin is FP. up to a cup is ok in an S meal….. and… not every day is meant to have weight loss. some days are just “recovery” for your body from the stress of loosing the weight you have lost 🙂

Leave a Reply

